Mentimeter pricing by plan: what the vendor's own pages say each one allows
Mentimeter pricing starts with a Free plan that includes 50 participants per month and as many presentations as you like. Basic and Pro are billed yearly per presenter, Enterprise is custom, and a Conference plan gives 30 days of full access for one event. No amounts of money are quoted here; the vendor's plans page holds the current ones.
Written by BuyPollVotes editorial desk | Last checked
Mentimeter subscription: what the terms and help pages call it
Mentimeter pricing rests on a subscription. The vendor's guide calls Mentimeter a subscription-based audience engagement platform provided as software-as-a-service, and its terms define a Subscription as a limited-time right to use the Free, Basic or Pro version of the application.
Mentimeter pricing on Basic and Pro is yearly: both are quoted excluding tax, and another help article says that subscriptions are billed annually.
Basic and Pro subscriptions renew every year when they are set up with a credit card, PayPal or an invoice requested online and settled by bank transfer. The Help Center page on cancelling is named for turning off automatic renewal, so a Mentimeter cancel subscription request starts on that page.
Cost without amounts: what is free and what bills yearly
Mentimeter cost starts at zero. The help centre says Mentimeter is free for as long as you like on the Free plan, and another help article says it is free to use for as long as you'd like.
The Free plan carries its limit in people, not presentations. The plans page lists 50 participants per month, and a second line on the same page adds that participants are not capped once per month. The help centre's article on the free account puts the ceiling as a total of 50 participants, with as many presentations as you like each month. How the two participant lines fit together is not spelled out in the lines compared here.
A total across the month means the number to watch is the running total, not the size of any one presentation.
The Mentimeter free version is one of three versions the terms name, next to Basic and Pro. Above it, the plans page shows Basic with participants that are not capped and no monthly restrictions, in the vendor's words present to however many people you like.
A Mentimeter free alternative is a comparison question with a page of its own on this site, so no other tool is weighed here.
This page quotes limits, never amounts of money, so the current figures behind Mentimeter pricing live on the vendor's plans page.
Mentimeter plans: Free, Basic, Pro, Enterprise and Conference
Mentimeter pricing is split across five named tiers in the pages compared here: Free, Basic, Pro, Enterprise and Conference. Free is the only one with no billing at all. Basic and Pro are billed yearly per presenter, Enterprise is custom, and Conference is time-limited.
The Mentimeter basic plan lets you present to however many people you like, with no monthly restrictions, and is billed yearly, excluding tax. Pro shares the yearly billing, and the lines compared here state no participant allowance for it.
Conference plans give full access to Mentimeter for 30 days, which the help centre presents as the choice for a single event. Nothing in the lines compared here says how many participants a Conference plan allows, or how it is billed.
Moving to a new plan, or adding licences to a workspace, applies the upgrade for the remainder of the annual subscription, according to the help centre's article on changing plans.
Enterprise: custom terms for larger organisations
Mentimeter enterprise pricing is custom. The plans page describes Enterprise as customized for larger organisations and lists no figure for it, so there is nothing to compare line by line.
Because the terms set the twelve-month subscription period unless otherwise agreed, a custom agreement can change the period as well as the amount. The lines compared here state no participant allowance, billing period or licence count for Enterprise.
The help centre lists Enterprise among the tiers the PowerPoint add-in works on, next to Free, Basic and Pro.
Mentimeter nonprofit pricing is not stated in the pages compared here, and none of them names a nonprofit tier.
Discount code: what the help pages say about discounts
No Mentimeter discount code appears in the help pages compared here, and no promo code either, so the coupon hunt can stop early. What the pages do describe is narrower: Mentimeter says it provides discounts based on the number of licences, and that it offers no reseller programs or reseller discounts.
When a plan changes mid-term, the help centre describes one adjustment inside Mentimeter pricing: a discount is calculated automatically for any time left on the current plan.
Mentimeter's education page asks organisations to get in touch with a short description of the organisation, and the lines compared here state no education rate.
- Discounts depend on the number of licences
- No reseller programs or reseller discounts
- Upgrades credit the time left on the current plan
- Education organisations are asked to get in touch
Reading the quote line: per presenter, per month, billed yearly
The plans page states Basic and Pro in one compressed line: per presenter per month, billed yearly, excluding tax. Each clause answers a different question. Per presenter names who the quote is for, per month names the unit it is quoted in, billed yearly names when the bill arrives, and excluding tax names what is left out.
No Mentimeter monthly subscription is described in the lines compared here. A figure quoted per month is not a monthly bill, because the terms set the subscription period at twelve months unless otherwise agreed and bill the whole period upfront, so the first bill covers a year.
The Free plan has no such line, because nothing is billed on it: what it carries are limits, such as the 50 participants per month.
Which plan the PowerPoint add-in needs
Mentimeter's PowerPoint add-in works on any Mentimeter plan, Free included, and the help centre lists Free, Basic, Pro and Enterprise by name. Nothing in the lines compared here adds a separate line to Mentimeter pricing for the add-in: the account it needs is free to create, and Microsoft's marketplace listing names the other requirements as an Office 365 account and an internet connection.
Importing is a separate route. Mentimeter's how-to page says PowerPoint presentations can be imported directly into Mentimeter, which is a different thing from running the add-in inside PowerPoint, and the lines compared here tie neither route to a higher plan.
What a plan cannot decide for a contest
Mentimeter pricing sets allowances, such as participants per month and how a subscription is billed. Whether a contest accepts a live Mentimeter count is the organiser's decision, made under the organiser's own written rules, and no plan, free or billed yearly, changes that.
Platform rules add a second layer. Mentimeter's terms call the right to use the application revocable and limited in time, and a contest's rulebook decides disqualification on its own authority, enforced by the people who run it. A large audience on a plan with no participant cap proves nothing about how a count was made.
A count that looks out of step with its room invites a check, and whether responses are detected as fake is settled by whoever holds the records: the vendor, or the organiser running the contest. The pages compared here describe no detection method for Mentimeter, so this page describes none and claims nothing about any count.
The organiser's published count is the one a contest uses, whatever a dashboard shows.
| Plan | Participants | Billing | Also stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | 50 per month; no cap once per month | Free for as long as you like | As many presentations as you like |
| Basic | However many people you like, no monthly restrictions | Billed yearly, excluding tax | PowerPoint add-in works |
| Pro | Not stated in the lines compared here | Billed yearly, excluding tax | PowerPoint add-in works |
| Enterprise | Not stated in the lines compared here | Custom | Customized for larger organisations |
| Conference | Not stated in the lines compared here | Access for 30 days | Full access, made for a single event |
Common questions
Is Mentimeter for PowerPoint free?
Mentimeter's PowerPoint add-in works on any Mentimeter plan, Free included, and a Mentimeter account is free to create for it. Microsoft's marketplace listing names the other requirements as an Office 365 account and an internet connection. Importing an existing PowerPoint file is a separate route that Mentimeter's how-to page confirms.
What is Mentimeter subscription?
A Mentimeter subscription is, in the terms' own wording, a limited-time right to use the Free, Basic or Pro version of the application. The vendor's guide adds that Mentimeter is a subscription-based audience engagement platform provided as software-as-a-service. On Basic and Pro the subscription period is twelve months unless otherwise agreed.
What is Mentimeter and is it free?
Mentimeter is a subscription-based audience engagement platform provided as software-as-a-service, and its Free plan stays free for as long as you like. That plan includes 50 participants per month and as many presentations as you like. Above it, Mentimeter pricing moves to yearly billing on Basic and Pro, with Enterprise custom.
Does Mentimeter cost money?
The Free plan costs nothing for as long as you like, while Basic and Pro are billed yearly per presenter and Enterprise is custom. Conference plans give full access for 30 days, which the help centre presents as the tier for a single event. No amounts of money are quoted on this page, because the plans page holds the current figures.
Can you cancel a Mentimeter subscription?
Basic and Pro subscriptions set up with a credit card, PayPal or an invoice requested online renew automatically every year, and Mentimeter's Help Center has a page on turning that renewal off. That page, named for cancelling a subscription, is the one to read for the steps, since none are quoted here.
Is there a Mentimeter promo code?
No promo code or discount code appears in the help pages compared here. The discounts those pages describe depend on the number of licences, Mentimeter says it offers no reseller programs or reseller discounts, and a change of plan credits any time left on the current plan.
Where these facts come from
- mentimeter.com. mentimeter.com/plans.
- mentimeter.com. mentimeter.com/plans.
- help.mentimeter.com. help.mentimeter.com/en/articles/5938993-which-plan-is-right-for-you.
- help.mentimeter.com. help.mentimeter.com/en/articles/1720503-add-and-present-mentimeter-slides-in-the-powerpoint-add-in.
- mentimeter.com. mentimeter.com/trust/legal/terms.
No amounts of money appear on this page: the vendor's plans page is where the current figures live, and they can change. Nothing here says which tier a room needs, no plan listed changes what an organiser accepts, and no nonprofit, education or promo rate is quoted, since none appears in the pages compared.
X prohibits coordinating with or compensating others to inflate engagement metrics, and it names Polls among the features covered. The Pet Industry Business Awards name the consequence in their own contest: a business may be investigated, lose votes or be disqualified on reasonable evidence of purchased votes. No seller can stop an organiser from doing that.
Slido says it is alerted when an event gets an unusually high number of votes in a very short time, and Crowdsignal says its built-in measures detect patterns of potentially abusive voting. Ordinary participation arrives spread across the voting window, from different people at different moments. Nothing on this site is a method for getting a vote past a check, and a vote that a tool blocks does not count.
Organiser rules differ: the RSPCA Pet of the Year Awards allow extra votes through donations on their official mechanism, while OpenTable Australia treats a vote cast in exchange for money or a reward as null and void. Both are contest rules, not statutes, and whether payment is lawful where you live is a question for a lawyer. Orders are refused for any contest whose rules ban paid votes, and for political ballots.
Votes ordered for a poll that never appear on its count are refunded after the poll closes. A refund never covers an organiser's decision: Localsearch may void all votes for a disqualified nominee, and Mentimeter says a user whose access it cancels under its Acceptable Use Policy is owed no refund or compensation. No result is promised.